My First…

Let’s be honest…

I’m scared shitless for this 5K on Saturday.

I’ve never done a 5K race before…ever. Not even walked in one. I have no idea what to expect, which is part of the reason I’m scared.

Fear of the unknown.

I know nothing about 5K races except that it’s 3.1 miles long and Race For The Cure is a pretty big deal. There will be a lot of people there which also scares me. I fear looking like an idiot out there running this thing. Stupid, but true.

It also doesn’t help that I’m now doing this alone. Jared backed out on me on Saturday for reasons unknown. It really ticks me off and actually hurts that he backed out. I wanted someone there to rock it out with me and cheer me on.

But I’ll be alone. (Thanks, asshat)

My mom did talk of walking it, but she’s still not sure. Either way, I’ll be out there running it solo.

I also fear that I’m not completely prepared for the race. I have had some decent runs lately, but have only run 3 miles once this past week. I feel like I should be running 3 miles at some sort of consistency. Not everyday, but more than once a week. Maybe I’m asking too much of myself. I don’t know.

I fear I’m going to get there and quit halfway through. Or I just may decide not to run it at all. I’m a champ at talking myself out of things.

All I can do is go out there and give it my all. Try my best and rock it out.

I do know I will be rocking my I Am My Own Superhero tshirt and proving to myself that I really am my own superhero. So, at least there’s that. Oh and I’ll be sure to find someone to take my picture after the race. I need the proof for my Bucket List and of course to share with all of you!

Hopefully this pit in my stomach will go away. Oh and the horrible pain I have in my hip. I’ve been told it’s my IT band and I’ll be stretching it a great deal this week. Don’t want to be sidelined for my first race.

I guess I’m asking for tips and encouraging words. Also, anyone wanna come to Iowa and run with me on Saturday? :o)

17 thoughts on “My First…

  1. Id love to come to iowa and run with you!

    I know Im the first of many to give this advice but I really do just think ENJOY IT.
    embrace and have fun with the process.

    and I say ditch the FEAR and worry as well (worrying? praying for what we dont want! who needs that? :)).

    spend the week reframing your thoughts into the positive:

    I WILL FINISH THIS RACE.
    IT’S A SUCCESS NO MATTER IF I WALK SOME OR RUN THE WHOLE THING.

    you can do this.

  2. You can do it!!!! While we won’t be physically there, your blogging buddies and all of those in Biz’s 101 Day Challenge are cheering you on!

    If you don’t own a foam roller, get one now. You can roll out your IT band on that. It hurts like hell but you’ll be glad you did it.

  3. Good news Brooke! You don’t have to be running these 3 milers with consistency! You just have to be consistently running.

    Here’s the deal:

    1) Take it easy. Remember being that this is your first race, its going to be a personal best no matter what. So walk a little, run a little, jog a little, skip a little. Remember – you’re out there to have fun first, then race.

    2) Push yourself. No one is ever going to think you look stupid, instead they’re going to encourage you EVERY step of the way. People in things like this are kind of cool that way! So when you’re starting to feel low on gas find a visual marker ahead to get to, run to it and walk for a little bit, but then start up again!

    3) You’re not going to be last. Just like in college with a grade curve, you’re almost always assured that as long as you come to class, you’re pretty much never going to be that poor person with the F on the test.

    4) Start high on miles this week (3-4) and end the week low (~1). Make sure to take a day off in between each run. You’re going to do a quick “taper” to rest up your body before the race.

    5) Finally – after its all said and done. Lets look towards the next race! Start a training plan. There are HUNDREDS of 5Ks out there! You can do ANY of them.

    -Michael P.

  4. You will finish it. How do I know? Because you will be wearing that awesome t-shirt and superheroes finish things, right? Have you ever seen a superhero NOT finish something? If you need to stop tell yourself that it will only be for one minute than start running again. You can do it, Brooke! You’re my hero!

  5. Girl you will do so well! If nothing else, create an awesome play list and rock out while you are running. You can do it! You are a rockstar!

  6. I would love to come run! However, I am stuck in KY. :( I wish you all the best though! I am running my first one in September. I JUST started training for it doing the C25K.

    Good luck! You can do it!!!!

  7. Brookie! There is nothing I’d love more than to come to Iowa and do it with you! :)

    As for me, I say don’t worry! Once you get there, the excitement of all the people will be such a high! And, don’t feel bad about not getting in 3 miles often…I’m not even sure I ran 3 miles in the training before I got to the race yesterday, but the adrenaline and all the people just kept me going…even when I wanted to walk up that last hill!

    Go get ‘em!! :)

  8. Hey Brooke, I ‘d just say enjoy it. My first 5k (walk) was last July. And we walked it and enjoyed the experience–but it was really slow…In March, I ran my frist 5k (probably more like a 6k), and I ran the whole way. I think that once you start running around all of those people, it’ll motivate you and you’ll keep it up. I know you can do it. More importantly, you know you can do it. So do it, yeah?

  9. I was so nervous before my first race and it went fine! That one I did a walk/run. The fist one I ran I hadn’t yet made it to 3 miles, I was still doing couch to 5k but the adrenaline of the day carried me through, there is something magical about the energy around you.

    It’s Okay to walk some of it, especially with IT Band issues, don’t run it just to prove a point and wind up injured, listen to your body.

    Starting the race makes you a winner, how many people actually go out there and do it? Finishing(however you do it) will make you feel incredible. You can do it. Embrace it and enjoy it.

  10. Your first race is scary. But don’t be afraid to take a break if you need it. And you will cross the line.

    I run most races alone because HUnni doesn’t like to run or the early starts. But you can do it! You are prepared and you can do it!

  11. When I ran my first 5K on January 1st, 2008, I had never even run 5K before. Ever. Not even once.

    but I went out there and did it.

    As for doing it alone, because some dumb boy backed out… YOU GO GIRL!

    You should be proud of yourself and your ability to get out there an do this ON YOUR OWN! Because you are a strong, independent woman who doesn’t need a man to hold her hand. You can hold your head high, and say ‘Look what I did for myself, by myself’

    Also… when it comes to the run. It doesn’t matter that you haven’t done it as many times as you want before the race. Do you know how many times I’d run 26.2 miles before the marathon??? NONE!!! You have done it, you know what running 5K feels like, and you are MORE than ready.

    Now get out there and kick some butt!

  12. It’s your first race, so you already know you’ll have your personal best time!

    Don’t sweat it – its only 3.1 miles and will be over before you know it. You will rock it sister!!

  13. wow, obviously people love you and think you’re going to rock it regardless. I have done 5k’s and been the last, and even then I finished and accomplished something. But I walked the entire time… and there will be other people walking. I seriously doubt you will be last, but so what if you are. And while we aren’t there with you in person many of us will be watching your progress through twitter and such so you won’t be alone as cheesy as that sounds.
    Stupid asshat boy, I would run with a superhero any day.

  14. You can do this! Please don’t talk yourself out of it. Run this race. Walk some of it if you have to, but run as much as you can. You’ll feel so good when you’re done. I’d come run it with you but it’s a bit of a trek from New Zealand to get there ;-)

  15. Besides telling you the OBVIOUS you can do it, I am just going off what’s fresh in my mind from my first 5K in April and knowing your leg situation.

    1) REST UP AND STRETCH.
    Don’t run. I don’t even care if you want to get a few more “practice” runs in. You don’t need it. You’re ready for it mentally and physically. Now your body is screaming LET ME REST. So let the poor thing rest. I don’t care if you’re nervous. Don’t beat your body up cause you think you aren’t ready. You’re ready.

    2) TRY TO GET A GOOD NIGHT’S SLEEP.
    I say try because chances are, pre-race jitters. I slept like absolute GARBAGE the night before my race. I actually sleep like crap the night before any of my races. But try to relax and take deep breaths.

    3) WAKE UP AND EAT ON RACE DAY.
    I don’t know exactly what works for you, but you should eat something, at least 1-2 hours before race start time. Maybe not something HUGE, but something. Get the body going.

    4) TELL YOURSELF YOU CAN DO IT OUT LOUD DURING THE RUN.
    I can’t stress how freaking crucial this is. The more you say it out loud, the more you believe it. The more you believe it, well, the more you are what you believe. And if you believe that you can do it, that you’re invincible, that you’re a rock star, well, that’s what you’ll be. SO GO BE A ROCKSTAR.

    5) DON’T WORRY ABOUT YOUR TIME OR PLACE.
    This is WAY easier said than done, but the most important thing of all is to finish what you started. So cross that finish line. It doesn’t matter what time you cross it in, it matters that you pushed through and completed, no matter how much you want to give up. Nobody likes being last, but I have deep respect for every single person that gets out there and runs a race. No matter what time or what place they finish in. They finished. And nobody can take that away from them. Y’hear?!

    6) HAVE FUN AND ENJOY IT!
    When I run, I try to embrace everything. I soak in the atmosphere. The supporters are always awesome. Some people will wear costumes. And just realize that you are a runner, a very rare breed of person who wakes up at the, and sometimes before the, crack of dawn to run on a weekend. Yeah. That’s right. Most people are sleeping in but you? You’re going out and being awesome.

    Have a great 5K! Can’t wait to hear your recap.

    Maybe I’ll even use these tips for a post I’ll write in the near future. :)

Leave a Reply

