Dining Out!

I almost forgot all about this blog! My mind has been rather preoccupied lately. :o)

This weeks topic was eating out on plan. I really needed this meeting. I don't always make the best choices when going out to eat, but I definitely do not make the most horrible choices.

Obviously it would be very hard to give up eating out completely. There's always some social situation surrounded around food. I don't necessarily agree with this, but it's the way it happens. So, you have got to learn how to incorporate it into your lifestyle.

This biggest rule I have is PLAN! Plan out ahead of time what you are going to eat and drink. Then you won't have such a tough time making a choice when you get to wherever you are going. Most restaurants have their menus with nutritional value on their websites. Also, if you're a fellow Weight Watcher, there's the handy Dining Out Companion. That has most of the point values for major restaurants in it. Oh and a great website that has many restaurants listed and POINT values is http://dwlz.com.

By planning you can know how many points/calories your meal is going to be and how it's going to work into your day.

When you get to the restaurant, don't be afraid to order your food the way you want. Yes, you need to be ONE of those people. I have trouble doing this because I was a waitress and I know how frustrating those people can be. Most places will let you swap out items, put things on the side, and exclude items. Sadly french fries are not a filling food. So, I usually switch them for veggies. Sure it's not the same, but I don't feel guilty when I eat broccoli.

Try your best to avoid certain menu items that contain words like fried, smothered, crispy, and any other words that may scream fattening to you. Foods using those adjectives are usually loaded with calories and fat. Yuck!!

Now there will be times where you won't want to worry about planning and will just order whatever sounds good to you. I don't recommend this. But if it happens to you, don't let it kick you off the weight loss bandwagon. Just put it in the past and work on planning next time you go out to eat.

My challenge for you this week is to make a list of things that would be good food choices for restaurants you frequent.

Sorry if any of this is confusing. Like I said, my mind has been a little preoccupied. Have a great week!!

Leave a Reply

